The Root of All Evil

A Clara and Iris Mystery (A Clara and Iris Mystery Series Book 3)

Private Investigators Clara Samples and Iris Hadley are at it again.

The Root of All Evil Header

Book Summary

The Root of All Evil

Private Investigators Clara Samples and Iris Hadley are at it again. The two widows are celebrating a successful first year of business when Pritchard Pitts of the Atlanta Police Department swings by with an unusual case. One that’s already been solved. But family members of both the victims and the offenders have doubts that the jury got it right.

It’ll be up to the PIs and their trusted team to prove that the two men incarcerated for the double murder are indeed innocent.

As they delve deeper into the grisly crime, nothing is as it seems. From Iris working undercover as a waitress to Clara scouring out-of-state pawn shops, the duo soon discovers more questions than answers.

Are the men locked away in one of Georgia’s most secure prisons guilty or innocent? And will the fearless private investigators and their team survive long enough to get the answer?

What readers say about the book🧐

(Amazon Review)
About the Author

Kim Carter

Novelist Kim Carter is a multi-award-winning author and critically acclaimed writer of gripping suspense, chilling thrillers, and haunting historical mysteries.

Ms. Carter is widely known for her vibrant characters in her Clara and Iris Mystery series, a couple of overly curious widows who turn into private investigators. These funny women were inspired by Kim’s mother and her mom’s best friend. Book one of this series, Murder Among The Tombstones, was chosen Finalist for the 2018 Killer Nashville Silver Falchion Award and a recipient of the 2017 TCK Publishers’ Readers’ Choice Award.

Ms. Carter’s Mysteries and literary works include Sweet Dreams, Baby Belle, When Dawn Never Comes, Deadly Odds (chosen Editor’s Pick in Books Shelf Magazine in 2022), No Second Chances, ‘And The Forecast Called For Rain,’ and ‘Dark Secrets of the Bayou, and her new ‘A Clara and Iris Mystery titled ‘The Root Of All Evil in Feb. 2024.”Dark Secrets of The Bayou” has been awarded a Reader’s Favorite Editorial 5-Star Review, also chosen #1 Finalist for Best Historical Mystery from Reader’s Favorite 2021 book awards, and was awarded a 2021 Killer Nashville Finalist for The Silver Falchion Awards. In 2022, “Bayou” was chosen by The Author Shout book awards as a Recommended Reads.

All of Kim’s novels can be purchased online at Amazon, Barnes and Noble, BAM, and Indie Bound. Kim’s writing career started after she suffered an illness that made her housebound for a couple of years. An avid reader of mystery novels herself, she embarked on writing to fill her time. Kim’s health struggles and successes have been chronicled on Lifetime Television in early 2000, The Atlanta-Journal Constitution, Women’s Day Magazine, and Guidepost.

Now, with seven acclaimed mystery titles to her credit, Kim worked in many different capacities in county government. Still, it was ultimately her job as a correctional officer that offered her opportunities to talk and interact with a diverse group of people. Her experiences run the gamete of inspiring success stories to tragic endings as she writes within her mysteries.

Kim began networking and made connections with numerous homicide detectives, medical examiners, and prison officials. Her research has taken her to many places, including morgues, death row, and the occasional midnight visit to cemeteries to gain material for her novels.

Kim is a college graduate of Saint Leo University with a Bachelor of Arts in Sociology. When she is not writing, she enjoys gardening, is an avid reader, and is a proud mother of four beautiful grown children; she currently resides outside Atlanta, Georgia.

Are you ready to read it now?

Private Investigators Clara Samples and Iris Hadley are at it again.

Scroll to Top